Join McKinney ISD as a special education teacher! We're offering a $5,000 stipend for the 2024-25 school year. This is a great opportunity to join a supportive SPED community, where you'll have the resources and encouragement to positively impact the lives of our students. Applicants, please send your resumes to Adrienne Broyles ([email protected]) and Brynne Riley ([email protected]). Visit for more information.


McKinney ISD School Board Summary for the December 18 Meeting

Karla Schumacher|
Tuesday, December 19, 2023

McKinney ISD School Board Summary for the December 18 Meeting — McKinney ISD Media/December 2023

McKinney, Texas — The McKinney ISD’s Board of Trustees meeting for December 18, 2023 is in the books, and I want to share with you a few highlights from our meeting.

We started the meeting with celebrations and recognitions.

First, the McKinney Education Foundation made a check presentation for more than $100,000 in teacher grants which were delivered on December 8. We are grateful for all that MEF does to support the students, staff and families in McKinney ISD.

Then we honored this month’s “We Are McKinney” Superintendent award winners. This month’s winners are Special Education teacher, Katie Leake, from Reuben Johnson Elementary and Instructional Coach, Nikki Jo, from Scott Johnson Middle School.

Next we honored this month’s Paraprofessionals of the Month. Our elementary winner is Silvia Key who is an Office Clerk at McGowen Elementary, and our secondary winner is Judy Chamorro who serves as a house office secretary at Cockrill Middle School.

Assistant Superintendent Dr. Amber Epperson honored our “Every Student, Every Day” award winners for the month of December. They included:

  • Tennessee Phillips from McClure Elementary
  • Natasha Jimenez from Wolford Elementary
  • Christopher Rabon from McGowen Elementary
  • Brock Evans from Evans Middle School
  • James (JT) Penland from McKinney North High School
  • And Aiden Lewis from McKinney High School

Our Director of Fine Arts, Dr. Critchfield, introduced and honored the winners of our Holiday Card Art Contest. This year’s winners are Lucy Wilson from Frazier Elementary, Paxton Grigsby from Cockrill Middle School and Natalie Kilpatrick from McKinney North High School.

We also celebrated 40 Texas Thespian Award Recipients. These students are in the top 5 percent of actors and technicians in the country and earned a trip to nationals in the summer.

Next we celebrated the McKinney North High School Bulldog band for their advancement to the UIL State Marching Band Championship. The drum majors and color guard captains came to represent the 170 members of the band who earned an incredible 16th place out of the 251 5A bands in Texas.

We honored the following McKinney ISD staff members who have earned their National Certificate for STEM teaching:

  • Dr. Kendra Henke
  • Teresa Bilyeu
  • Cody Martin
  • Kathy Campos
  • Alma Torres
  • Bambi Castro
  • Piper Huckleberry
  • Paula Clement

Following our recognitions, Dr. Dennis Womack, Assistant Superintendent, introduced a representative from Zonda to give a 3rd quarter demographic update. Dr. Womack also provided information on how the demographic update will impact our district.

Amy Dawson, McKinney ISD’s Director of Childcare programs, shared the preschool expansion plan for the 2024-2025 school year.

Finally, Dr. Womack held a public hearing over the School Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas.

Those are the highlights from this month’s meeting. If you would like more details on anything covered in our meeting, please click on the link to view the entire meeting.

Thank you for watching, and we look forward to bringing you the highlights from our next board meeting, which will be held January 22 at 6 p.m.

Need Help?

If you need additional assistance with the content on this page, please contact MISD Communications Department team member Shane Mauldin by phone at 469-302-4007 or by email here .

Press Contact